What is my Niche?

I love to write and I always have something to say. But since this is all still so new to me, I don’t think I truly know what mt niche is/will be. And I am guessing, that as an author, I am supposed to know.

I love writing children’s stories, paranormal, romance, erotica, drama and murder mysteries. So how do I know which one will be my “thing”? Will I go by what sells and what doesn’t? That doesn’t seem right though.

I was asked the other day this very question and I felt like an idiot when I didn’t have an answer. I think that romance/erotic romance may be my favorite, but I also think that I say that because that is probably my favorite to read.

I have heard that if you love to read it then that is probably your niche. But I don’t completely buy into that. My kids are older now, so I don’t read children’s books anymore, but when I did, I loved them. And I am forever on Google looking up “How to” do this or “how to” do that, but I don’t think that is my niche either.

Any advice that you have to offer would be great. If not, I am guessing I will figure it out as I go. I am still so new at this and maybe it will just come with time. But for now, when I am asked, maybe I will say, “I can do it all!!” ha ha Probably not, but it would be funny. šŸ™‚

 

26 thoughts on “What is my Niche?

  1. Don’t worry, as an author you’re not supposed to ‘know’ your niche, you’re supposed to find out! It’s one of those things that will click the more you write. And you don’t have to constrict yourself to one genre; what makes you special as a writer could be your prose, the themes you use, or the unique relationships between your characters.

    Oh and definitely, definitely don’t go by what sells! Two reasons; one, because you should write first of all for yourself (if you don’t like it, what’s the point?), and secondly, because of the massive turnaround times involved in publishing and the amount of time it takes to write a great book, by the time you’ve written something that is ‘current’, it’ll already be outdated.

    Here’s to a great writing year!

    • So very true Hyperteller! I posted a blog the other day about this same thing. Everyone right now is so into the erotica genres because of 50 Shades and also paranormal/vampire due to the huge success of the Twilight Series; most are missing the mark shamefully. They “jump ship” because they see what is HOT but in 6 months- 1 year, when they have their half-hearted book self-published, it will go over like a lead balloon. I agree to do what “you” feel is best…do for yourself!

  2. I struggled with this too, until I came to the realization that in this new age of publishing where readers are the gatekeepers and writers can just be artists again (all of that pre-packaging and market manipulation no longer required), the “niche” is me–the author. So I say be true to yourself and write whatever you want!

    • Thank you and that makes sense. I will just keep writing what pops in my head and not worry about anything else. (My son has me writing him a rap song as we speak) Apparently I just love to write things like this comes strangely easy to me. šŸ™‚

  3. If you were to pick up a book today, what would be inside that book? What do you want to read about? Write that story, and write it with the passion you feel when you are living the works of other authors!

  4. Write about things that you know and are experienced about, or make a thorough study. There is no limit and there are no bounds. But for people to accept you as a writer they need to know your genre

  5. I’ve been pondering this a lot myself! The conclusion I came to was that 1) I’ll just have to see what works out for me, 2) plenty of authors shift their niche over time so there’s no point worrying about it, and 3) that like Loki, I do what I want, Thor! So I’m just trying to write stories I like, and hoping for the best.

  6. I have to agree with all of the above comments! I currently have three fantasy books in various stages of completion, a modern western, and three brother’s stories that maybe one…or three different books. Write what you love, write what you dream, and listen to those voices in your head! They have some amazing stories some times šŸ™‚

    • Thank you…and I am trying. I feel bad though because I feel as though I should be doing nothing but focusing on finishing my novel, but I keep having “short story” ideas running through my head. One minute I am writing about death and the next I am writing some form of erotica lol Then a children’s story pops in my head. I guess I just need to go with the flow and just write what I am feeling. Thanks again. šŸ™‚

  7. I once had an itch
    To find my niche
    But nowhere could it be

    Then one day
    I yelled, ‘Hip-hip horray!’
    As my heart did truly see

    That my thought of right
    Was no longer a fight
    And my soul was once again free

  8. Follow your instinct. Also, what you love to read is probably your niche, I love Fantasy, Dark Fantasy,Young Adult, and SIence Fiction. So, what’s a guy to do? I don’t think I have the heart to separate all three genres! So, I combined them all! lol

Leave a Reply

