I Really Amaze Myself Sometimes…

I am by no means trying to toot my own horn here, but sometimes I am just surprised as to what my mind is capable of. If you would have told me one year ago that I would be doing the things that I do on a daily basis, I would have probably laughed in your face.

In the midst of all of my own writing, I have gigs that pay me to be a ghost writer and it seems that I am getting pretty well-known because I have been SO busy it is crazy. I get requests for stories that are between 10,000 and 25,000 words long and they are all completely different. And they order smaller parts at a time, so any given day I could be working on three or four different books at a time, not to mention my own, in my spare time. (ya right)

So in the middle of all of this writing, I am still taking care of my family, volunteering at the local hospital, keeping up with my friends and writing random things for family and friends for free, of course. But believe it or not, I am happier than I have been in a very long time. I absolutely love to write and I love being home.

Yesterday I found myself writing a rap song for my son. Really? A rap song? ha ha ha Yup, he asked if I could do it and I actually doubted myself, but then out of pure curiosity, I stopped all of the writing that I was doing and then whipped that child up a rap song. Who would have ever thought that I would have any clue as to how to do that. Certainly not me.

I always doubt myself, and then I like to prove myself wrong and I just come up with the craziest stuff that I could never have imagined. I love that I am almost forty years old and I can still amaze myself. I still can’t believe that I wrote a rap song. lol

Poetry, rap songs, country songs, novels and stories in general are all the same I guess. I just never realized how easily a lot of this comes to me. I feel like I am getting to know myself for the first time in my life.

I love it!

 

30 thoughts on “I Really Amaze Myself Sometimes…

  1. You have a lot to celebrate, good on you for doing just that! And while were are on the topic, this is great blog, thanks for sharing your journey…and of course for the follow as well.

  2. Thanks for following my blog. The problem with living in a place where there are so many interesting things to see, do, photograph, eat…is that not much time is left for writing! Is this really a problem? I don’t think so! It IS amazing how much we can accomplish. Keep amazing yourself!

  3. It’s never wrong to toot your own horn, and a self-confidence booster that we all should try once in a while. Writers are SO prone to self-doubt. BE PROUD! (And I’m very jealous of the ghost writing gigs! How did you get into that?)

    • Thank you…and I am proud, but I have my own good dose of self-doubt as well…sometimes. 🙂 And the ghost writing gigs are pretty amazing. Fast, easy money, but it is tough to write a novella or even a novel for someone else, see it be a success and just sit back and say, “That could have been me” or “that was me!!” lol But, http://www.freelancer.com or http://www.elance.com are great, but believe it or not I have made the most money from http://www.fiverr.com and I love it. I just write personal short stories for people, which has created a lot of repeat customers and they pay for actual novels. That is where Fiverr pays better than the others.

  4. I can totally relate. Recently, all I want to do is write. I wish I had more time to write. I was just saying today that I wish I could go on sabbatical for a year. No, I’m no a teacher. Thanks for following my blog. Still learning how to navigate wordpress :).

  5. Thanks for visiting Phase Two. Great for you! What a wonderful testimony that we can do anything if we put our minds to it.

  6. Hi Angela,

    I love when you said that you feel like you’re just getting to know yourself for the first time! I’m a 40 something mom of two and am also on the path towards knowing myself fully…can’t wait to see what twist and turns this path takes me on the next while….
    Thanks for following my blog….I’ll be dropping in here as well. Take care and all the best! Cora

  7. Thanks for following my blog, Angela, and for helping me tag needed writers for The Next Big Thing. It is amazing how we can surprise ourselves by accomplishing what seems impossible. But then I learned that we needn’t prejudge ourselves because we are largely unexplored territory. We are our own frontier. I wish you the best.

  8. Your enthusiasm and excitement about writing definitely comes across in this post. It’s great that you can write in so many different ways. I’d like to try my hand at more different types of writing.

  9. What a wonderful blog you have here, Angela. It’s amazing what the human mind can do…passion is the driving factor and you have it. Thanks for the follow. I won’t want to miss your blog from now on.

  10. Thank you so much for following my blog, but I do understand if you don’t get time to read the rambling posts I write – you sound very busy! And hey, don’t ever feel bad about about tooting your own horn/patting yourself on the back, a little bit of self praise is no bad thing – it makes you feel better and therefore makes you a better person…well that’s my motto anyway (one of the many, that is!)

Leave a Reply

