Book Covers

So from what I have heard, book covers are very important. Apparently, it can really make an impact on whether someone will read it or not. It makes sense, and honestly, I can admit that I have been a big failure with this up to this point.

I am what some would call graphic design challenged. Yup, completely clueless. I will either take one of my own basic photos or choose from some of the free ones that companies offer. Throw the title and my name on it and call it good. I realize now that this should be one of the seven deadly sins, but like I said, I was clueless.

So, to say the least, I am investing some of my hard-earned money to have someone design my cover for my novel in progress. I have done some research and I think I have found someone who can do the job, and do it well. And it will not break the bank.

But as always, I would love to hear from all of you about how you go about creating these beautiful book covers that we all see? Are so talented that you do them on your own? Or do you hire someone? Please share with us.

6 thoughts on “Book Covers

  1. I like your question. It takes hours and hours looking at free imagages hoping to find something that works. I plan to do an orb book so my next cover will be my own. For another book I have to have a good title in place before I decide what to do about the cover. I agree though, it is very important.

  2. Pro book cover tip: Don’t hire your college friend who majored in graphic design just after they get out of college. Going to school for something doesn’t equate to real-world experience! Hire a professional book cover designer!

Leave a comment