Free Publicity – Creating a Buzz

Good morning everyone. I thought that free publicity would be an excellent topic for today. I was doing some research last night and I just got blown away by all of the options that there are out there.

I have used this before for other business promoting, and it did work like a charm, but it never even crossed my mind for my book. It just hit me like someone smacked me in the head with a big hard covered book.

And when I say free publicity, I don’t mean just putting posts on your Facebook or Twitter, I mean putting yourself in the news and in the papers or magazines or wherever else they are willing to put your name and book title…for FREE!!

This is something that does not need to take up much of your time either. I get emails every day from reporters, journalists and publishers, but I stopped reading them when I started working for myself from home. Why? I have no idea. Am I the only one that has had this brain fart?

I have a lot of work to do today, but either tonight or tomorrow, I am going to write out a press release, pick a date that my new book will be finished and published in the near future, and maybe get my cover designed first, and start spreading the word…for FREE. Duh. Maybe I won’t even need the whole virtual book tour thing, well, at least not the paid one. We will see.

Really? Am I the only one that lets the most amazing things just sit in the back of my brain, untouched?

 

6 thoughts on “Free Publicity – Creating a Buzz

  1. Great point. Press releases are free, and they do more for book and author promotion than most other outlets can do. I tried reblogging your post, but I don’t see it. Ohwell, WordPress is being stubborn again. Great post. I enjoyed it.

  2. Free Publicity – Creating a Buzz | Pat Fitzhugh

Leave a Reply

